AC Milan Women vs. Fiorentina – A short match preview

By Steph_ -

After a two-week international break, the AC Milan Women are ready to get back into action.

Their next opponent in the league will be Fiorentina. This match will be important for several reasons, chief among them being that the winner will most likely qualify for next season’s Champions League. Fiorentina are Milan’s direct rivals for a spot in the tournament and they must beat them head on if they want to qualify for next season’s competition.

The match will also be a good opportunity for Milan to test out the partnership of both Veró Boquete and Julia Šimić. We saw glimpses of their potential in the Coppa Italia as the two players worked in tandem against Orobica. The two of them moved the ball around with ease and their first touches were simply sublime. The midfielders made sure that Milan held the majority of possession during that game and helped them secure a 4-0 victory.

Look for them to continue working in sync to boss around the midfield, and for their partnership to continue to grow.

Milan will most likely field either a 3-5-2 or a 4-3-1-2 with Veró as a trequartista and Šimić in the pivot.

Fiorentina have a mixed record for this season as they’ve won three matches, but have also lost three as well. Milan have won all but one of their matches this season.

Milan also has former Fiorentina player Laura Agard helming their defense, and that should give them an advantage in this game as Agard will work to shut her former team’s offense down.

Final scores are hard to predict but with all of this in mind, fortune would seem to be on the Rossonere’s side. Look for them to emerge the victor’s of Saturday’s encounter.

Kickoff Time: 12:30 p.m. CET (3:30 a.m. PST / 6:30 a.m. EST).

How to watch: TimVision, Sky, Milan TV, the official AC Milan app, the Dailymotion page.

 

Tags AC Milan Women Rossonere