GdS: Referee not perfect but got main decisions right in Milan’s win over Roma

By Isak Möller -

AC Milan had to finish the game against Roma with ten men as Fikayo Tomori was sent off after receiving his second yellow card. A call that the referee got right, according to today’s newspapers. 

Many Rossoneri fans were frustrated with the decision as the first yellow card appeared to be incorrect, while the second one if anything was soft. However, it also needs to be highlighted that Fikayo Tomori was unnecessarily rash after the first card.

According to today’s edition of Gazzetta Dello Sport (see photo below), the referee Antonio Rapuno got a 5.5/10 as he could have handled some situations better. However, he got the main calls right including the red card of Tomori, who was simply too aggressive.

He needed the help of VAR to award Milan a penalty but made the right decision in the end. As said, however, there were a few situations in which both teams were frustrated and Zeki Celik also should have had a yellow card after his tug of Rafael Leao’s shorts.

Tags AC Milan Roma


  1. Someone claimed the penalty is wrong call because RLC can’t get the ball even if not fouled. But hey, rule is rule and chance to get the ball is not considered according to the rule. If you bite an opponent inside your penalty area when the ball is very far away (but still in play), it’s still a penalty kick given to your opponent.

      1. It was different penalty area. If Suarez bite Chiellini in the penalty area of Uruguay, it would have been penalty (if the referee see it as no VAR at that time).

        1. Yes, I know that it was in the Italy box, just making a joke. The biggest joke however was that there was no foul called when it should have been a clear red. When Chiellini showed the bite mark on his shoulder where did the ref think it came from?

    1. I thought it was an incredibly soft penalty, I don’t like to see them given for that and I’d have been outraged if a similar incident had gone against us – very lucky in silly modern rule interpretations and VAR making things look worse. If it keeps going this way there needs to be some way of not giving a penalty when there is no chance of a goal being scored but a minor accidental foul occurs.

      I fear it will catch us out in some big games when the pressure is the other way around.

      1. That was a red every time. Doesn’t matter at all if you think RLC could have got to the ball or not. Patricio clearly intentionally tripped him to prevent him from going by. As Yelnats said, a foul is a foul, you can’t kick people even if they don’t have the ball.

  2. The red csrd given to Tomori, is a bit harsh. The Roma player was too willing to go down. If fact there was no contact. He pretended !!!

  3. GdS you’re smoking crack. There’s no way Tomori should have gotten sent off and that in itself is one of the two major calls of the game. The other is the pen which could go either way but the keeper didn’t need to raise his foot to attempt the block on the ball
    By the way the game was officiated by said referee then the guy who almost pulled Leao’s pants down should have gotten a yellow if Tomori’s first challenge was a yellow (I’ll have to check back the replay, and the. I’ll check back if he then got a yellow later)
    Ref was atrocious

Comments are closed

Serie A Standings

Live football scores . Current table, fixtures & results.