This morning’s Italian papers have cast doubt on the decisions that the officiating crew made during last night’s game between AC Milan and Atalanta in the Coppa Italia.
Milan’s 2-1 cup exit at the hands of Atalanta was not without controversy as the away side enjoyed the rub of the green on two calls that home fans were not happy with.
The first was a penalty awarded when Miranchuk went down, resulting in Atalanta’s second goal, while the second was a late spot kick not awarded for handball.
This morning’s edition of La Gazzetta dello Sport (as seen below) has their usual ‘moviola’ referee review section, starting with the first penalty appeal that Atalanta had in the 35th minute.
They claim that Tijjani Reijnders pushed De Roon as he was trying to get on the end of De Ketelaere’s header back across goal, while Matteo Gabbia saw the Atalanta player arriving and took a step towards him, so they think it was a penalty.
For the Jimenez-Miranchuk contact that actually did result in a penalty being awarded, the paper state that it is not always enough to get a touch on the ball, but many doubts remain about the decision given the Spaniard did clearly deviate the ball.
For Holm’s handball in the 95th minute, the movement was deemed regular by the officials after a VAR review.
Meanwhile, Corriere dello Sport (via PianetaMilan) also had their say on the major incidents. Both papers gave Marco Di Bello a 4.5 out of 10 for his refereeing.
On the penalty given against Jimenez: “Very big doubts about the penalty given: Jiménez touches the ball but it changes rotation and directio , then comes contact with Miranchuk’s knee (more due to dynamics, almost the latter going towards the other). Where is the penalty?”
On the penalty not given in the first half: “Reijnders pushes (with one hand…) De Roon, a few steps from the goal. The push leads De Roon to crash violently into Gabbia, to the point that the two were replaced: error by Di Bello, it’s a penalty to be given on the pitch, at normal speed.”
On Holm’s alleged handball: “Simic’s head, Holm in front touches with his left arm which, however, is not very wide and is moving back in: check and not penalty.”