Ex-referee believes Vincic got non-penalty call on Correa correct: “They tried it again!”

By Oliver Fisher -

Former referee Graziano Cesari believes that Atletico Madrid again tried to con the officials during last night’s game against AC Milan with a late penalty appeal.

The Rossoneri kept their Champions League hopes alive by winning 1-0 thanks to a goal from Junior Messias inside the final five minutes, and they managed to avenge the first meeting between the two teams in which Milan were easily the better side until a controversial second yellow was given to Franck Kessie and an even more controversial late penalty gave Atleti the win.

There was a moment of drama late in last night’s game when Angel Correa tumbled to the floor inside the box in the closing seconds with his side a goal down and needing an equaliser. This time, unlikely the prior meeting, nothing was given.

Graziano Cesari – who was Mediaset’s resident refereeing consultant for the game – commented on the penalty that Atletico Madrid asked for after an alleged foul by Kjaer on Correa.

“Compared to the first leg there was a huge difference. Atletico wanted a penalty in the 94th minute. Correa he adjusts the ball with his hand, then falls to the ground,” he said (via MilanNews).

“It is not a penalty at all and the referee was very careful. Do you remember in the first leg that penalty awarded by Cakir for a Kalulu hand that was actually Lemar’s hands? It’s as if to say: they tried it again!”


READ MORE: Graphic reveals some shocking average player positions for Milan vs. Atletico Madrid

Tags AC Milan

1 Comment

  1. Kusye says:

    Thanks God, We didn’t recruit Corea. He doesn’t deserve to be a Milan player.

Comments are closed

Serie A Standings

Live football scores . Current table, fixtures & results.