GdS: Milan should have had a penalty vs. Salernitana but not for Bennacer incident

By Oliver Fisher -

AC Milan should have had a penalty in the second half of last night’s game against Salernitana, but not for the challenge on Ismael Bennacer.

Today’s edition of La Gazzetta dello Sport (via MilanNews) analyses the refereeing incidents from the game last night and in particular the two situations that arose inside the Salernitana box in the second half of the game.

The first saw Lassana Coulibaly bump Theo Hernandez with his hip, but the referee La Penna considered it light contact and did not call a penalty, but in reality it impeded his passage and therefore a penalty kick should have been called.

Shortly afterwards the referee did point to the spot for what he adjudged to be a foul by Bradaric on Bennacer, however the VAR chief Banti called him to the monitor and overturned the decision, determining that there was not contact in his eyes.

Tags AC Milan Milan Salernitana


  1. If he used his shoulder or butt or body to hit Bennacer, I don’t agree with a penalty. As shown in the picture, he used his hand and leg. Either one can trigger a penalty

  2. It’s still not clear that there’s daylight between Bennacer and the defender. The penalty should have stood. I can’t see where clearly the guys didn’t foul him. I thought the defenders leg tripped him. Not I’m seeing his hands also pushed him. I really didn’t know what var called the red over for. They were supposed to make the judgment if it was clear and obvious. The fact that the field ref has to still go over to the tv to decide makes it not clear and obvious

Comments are closed

Serie A Standings

Live football scores . Current table, fixtures & results.